What a week

There is so mich to write about.  I’m 4DPO, and getting sick.  Courtesy of O.  We have been cooped up in the house with a sick 

Image

toddler since Saturday.  He seemed fine all morning, running around like a crazy thing.  D agreed to take him to the park, and he was so excited.  Then they go there and… Yeah.  He fell asleep.  D carried him home and he took a nap.  When he woke up his fever was 103.  Uh-oh… Poor sick kiddo.  He developed a cough and we ended up with a call to the pedi around 1am on Sunday night, and an appointment Monday morning.  By Tuesday Dan was getting sick and came home from work around noon.  Owen napped for a little while, and then woke up, and wanted to come downstairs.  

Image

That led to this.  Him passing out on me on the couch.  Since the pedi hadn’t seemed concerend the day before, and he was miserable no matter what, I hadn’t given him much meds that day, hoping that the fever would burn off whatever virus was making him sick.  When he woke up around 6, I took his temperature and it was 105.  Cue panic.  We called the pedi again, and the sent us to the ER.  That was one of the scariest drives of my life.  I just kept crying.  

Logically I know that kids get sick, kids get fevers, yes even fevers this high and are fine.  But I also know sometimes they aren’t.  That sometimes it gets worse.  And as rare as that is, when you have lived through the rare horror story we have, you know that those rare things can happen.  I just kept crying and thinking, “please, I can’t lose him too.”  At the hospital they gave him more meds and did a flu swab.  He has Influenza B.  They sent us home, and that whole night I was terrified.  They have us giving him meds every 3 hours even if we have to wake him to keep the fever down.  It mostly seems to be working, but there hasn’t been a whole lot of sleep, and now I am developing a low grade fever.

updateI don’t know what is going on. I’ve had the hardest time posting this. I’ve been trying since Thursday afternoon. I ended up with a fever of 102.5 Thursday night, which has me nervous about my chances this cycle. Which sucks,because I felt like a lot of positive signs were there,and against my better judgement I had gotten my hopes way up.

2 thoughts on “What a week

  1. I’m so sorry – it must be terrifying having to take your living child to the ER. You’re right, we know fevers etc. happen and usually it’s fine, but having been on the wrong side of statistics before it is hard not to panic.
    Hope you all feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

