Microblog Monday: Perspective

Today, someone apologized to my for not being as supportive as the wishes they could have been “when I was grieving.”  

I knew what they meant, but it struck me as odd.  What do you mean “when I was grieving?”  I am grieving.  No past tense here.  And I realized, I still consider my grief fresh.  New.  I see myself as “newly-bereaved.” 

Obviously not compared to someone for whom it has been only a few hours, days, weeks, months.  But new.  An open wound.  

In three weeks in will have been two years.  This week will be two years since the first bad news.  But it still seems so raw.  

Does that ever go away?

5 thoughts on “Microblog Monday: Perspective

  1. I don’t think it ever fully goes away. It’s such an odd idea; that grief has this expiration date. Or that it’s a thick line you can step over and be on the other side.

  2. Yes, I think it does. Your grief and your memories will never go away, but the rawness in general will begin to close. Everyone’s situation is different and everyone’s “schedule” is different. I can still go back to those raw memories and at those times it still seems fresh. But it’s been four years and I am now feeling like in my everyday life my wounds are no longer gaping.

Leave a Reply

