Capture Your Grief Day 18: Seasons and Symbols

  I never understood the trend in the loss community to equate our children with butterflies. But this summer, during an exceptionally hard week, a yellow butterfly came to visit our back yard every day. I had rarely seen a butterfly. I now see them all the time. As the seasons change and it gets cold, I will miss seeing them everywhere.  

Yesterday at the Walk of Remembrance they did a butterfly release. Owen really wanted to hold a butterfly.  He kept not having any luck, but then Dan pointed out one that had landed on me.  Owen managed to hold it, and when it flew away, it came back to me.  It flew away and then landed back in me three times.  It was probably on me for five minutes.  I can’t explain it, but I was very emotional when it finally flew away.  

Tomorrow is Noah’s birthday.  I love and miss you sweet boy.  💙💙💙

Leave a Reply

